Your daily dose of Austin
Smartphone image
×
Make your inbox more Austin.
Local news and fun, every day 6am.
MLS 2022 schedule release: Austin FC kicks off second season with back-to-back home matches

Austin FC's second season will kick off on February 26, 2022. (Austin FC/Twitter)

Austin FC fans won't have to wait eight matches for their first home game—instead, the team will play back-to-back home matches for the first games of the 2022 season, according to the full Major League Soccer schedule released Wednesday.


They'll play a total of 29 matches, including 17 at home and 26 against fellow West Conference opponents, in the regular season, which will span from February to October.

Here's the full 2022 schedule:

  • Home vs.FC Cincinnati, 5 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 26
  • Home vs. Inter Miami FC, 3 p.m. Sunday, March 6
  • Away at Portland Timbers, 9 p.m. Saturday, March 12
  • Home vs. Seattle Sounders, 3:30 p.m. Sunday, March 20
  • Away at San Jose Earthquakes, 6:30 p.m. Saturday, April 2
  • Home vs. Minnesota United, 6:30 p.m. Sunday, April 10
  • Away at DC United, 6:30 p.m. Saturday, April 16
  • Home vs. Vancouver Whitecaps, 7:30 p.m. Saturday, April 23
  • Away at Houston Dynamo, 12:30 p.m. Saturday, April 30
  • Home vs. LA Galaxy, 6 p.m. Sunday, May 8
  • Away at Real Salt Lake, 8:30 p.m. Saturday, May 14
  • Away at Los Angeles FC, 9:30 p.m. Wednesday, May 18
  • Home vs. Orlando City SC, 7 p.m. Sunday, May 22
  • Away at LA Galaxy, TBD Sunday, May 29
  • Away at CF Montreal, 6:30 p.m. Saturday, June 18
  • Home vs. FC Dallas, 8 p.m. Saturday, June 25
  • Away at Charlotte FC, 6 p.m. Wednesday, June 29
  • Away at Colorado Rapids, 8 p.m. Monday, July 4
  • Away at Atlanta United, 6 p.m. Saturday, July 9
  • Home vs. Houston Dynamo, 8 p.m. Tuesday, July 12
  • Away at FC Dallas, 8 p.m. Saturday, July 16
  • Home vs. New York Red Bulls, 7 p.m. Sunday, July 24
  • Away at Sporting Kansas City, 7:30 p.m. Saturday, July 30
  • Home vs. San Jose Earthquakes, 8 p.m. Saturday, August 6
  • Home vs. Sporting Kansas City, 8 p.m. Saturday, August 13
  • Away at Minnesota United, 7 p.m. Saturday, August 20
  • Home vs. LAFC, 7 p.m. Friday, August 26
  • Home vs. Portland Timbers, 8 p.m. Wednesday, August 31
  • Away at Nashville SC, 7:30 p.m. Saturday, September 3
  • Away at Seattle Sounders, 7 p.m. Saturday, September 10
  • Home vs. Real Salt Lake, TBD Wednesday, September 14
  • Home vs. Nashville SC, 8 p.m. Saturday, September 17
  • Away at Vancouver Whitecaps, 9 p.m. Saturday, October 1
  • Home vs. Colorado Rapids, 4 p.m. Sunday, October 9
Fans who want to secure home tickets can join the 2022 Oak Collective Waitlist Membership by midnight Wednesday and gain exclusive presale access for single match tickets for home matches at 10 a.m. Thursday. The general public will be able to purchase single match tickets a day later at 10 a.m. Friday at www.q2stadium.com or www.austinfc.com.

Some notable matches will include the first match against FC Cincinnati, a Copa Tejas matches against FC Dallas and Houston Dynamo and their first-ever matchup with new team Charlotte FC on Wednesday, June 29.

Eight matches will be nationally broadcast, and all will include regional broadcasts from KXAN (NBC), KNVA (CW Austin), KBVO (MyNetwork), KAKW (Univision), KASE-FM (ALT97.5 FM), and TUDN Radio Austin (104.3-HD2, KLQB).

Fans who helped sell out all of Austin FC's home matches last year will need to open up their Sundays: contrary to last season, seven matches will take place on Sundays, while six will take place on Saturday, two on Wednesday and one on Monday, Tuesday or Friday.

Both the MLS regular season and playoffs will wrap up early in anticipation of the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar, which will take place from Nov 21– Dec 18, 2022.

Popular

Tito's releases (not so?) ugly sweater line for the holidays, profits to charity

Tito's Handmade Vodka

Show your love for Tito's and for the community this year with a wide selection of not that ugly, uglyish, ugly, uglier, and ugliest holiday sweaters.

There's lots choose from, and plenty of accessories like scarves and socks, plus gear for your dog, too.

All of the items can be purchased online or at the Love, Tito’s Retail Store in Austin, TX. 100% of all net proceeds from online or in-store purchases go to one of the nonprofits we’ve teamed up with.

Click here to see the entire collection in the Tito's store.

Mac and Cheese Fest and Free Art Exhibit
Waterloo Greenway, Good Vibrations Installation


🗓 All weekend

🎨 Creek Show Art Exhibit

Check out this highly anticipated art exhibition with illuminated art along Waller Creek. Tickets are free and the event includes food vendors, dazzling lights, live music, and hands-on activities

All weekend 6 p.m - 10 p.m | 📍Waterloo Park

✨ Mozart's Light Show

This iconic holiday tradition lights up for the first time this holiday season starting this weekend! Reserve your spot for an enchanting light and sound performance, delicious hot cocoa, sweet treats, and some overall fun with your friends or family. The show runs till January 6th.

6 p.m and 9 p.m | 📍Mozart's Coffee Roasters - 3825 Lake Austin Blvd, Austin, TX 78703

🗓 Saturday

🥊 Kickboxing in the Park

This fitness event is free and open to the public. Get your morning started right with a "Fitness in the park" class for kickboxing! The class will be led by certified instructors and is a great way to get a cardio workout in while also honing your self-defense skills.

10 a.m - 11 a.m | 📍 Metz Park

🛍 The Front Market

Support local LBGTQ+ and female artists at this outdoor market with over 150 vendors. Get your holiday shopping out of the way at this event, with vendors for food trucks, handmade goods, raffles, hands on workshops and activities, and more.

11 a.m - 5 p.m | 📍Ani's Day and Night - 7107 E Riverside Drive, Austin, TX 78741

🗓 Sunday

🧀 Mac and Cheese Fest

Did someone say cheese?! If you're like me and always willing to get your hands on a bowl of mac and cheese, then this event is for you. Check out the Mac and Cheese festival happening this weekend to decide which vendor has. the best mac and cheese for yourself, and enjoy the bar with creative cocktails while you're at it. Tickets start at $45.

11 a.m - 3 p.m | 📍Lantana Place - 7415 Southwest Parkway