Never miss a story
Sign up for our free daily morning email...
...and afternoon text update
×
becomeMemberIcon

become a member

Austin FC's first official schedule is out.

Twenty-four days before the league's season opener, the MLS released its full schedule for the 2021 season, including ATXFC's 34-game inaugural schedule. The club will participate in the Western Conference alongside 12 other teams.

Here's the full schedule for Austin FC's first-ever season:


DATE

OPPONENT

TIME (CDT)

TV

Sat., April 17

at Los Angeles FC

4:30pm

Fox (National)

Sat., April 24

at Colorado Rapids

8:00pm

Regional TBD

Sat., May 1

at Minnesota United FC

7:00pm

Regional TBD

Sun., May 9

at Sporting Kansas City

6:30pm

FS1 (National)

Sat., May 15

at LA Galaxy

2:30pm

Univision (National)

Sun., May 23

at Nashville SC

8:00pm

FS1 (National)

Sat., May 29

at Seattle Sounders

3:00pm

Regional TBD

Sat., June 19

SAN JOSE EARTHQUAKES
Presented by Q2

8:00pm

UniMás (National)

Wed., June 23

at Minnesota United FC

7:00pm

Regional TBD

Sun., June 27

COLUMBUS CREW SC

7:00pm

FS1 (National)

Sat., July 3

PORTLAND TIMBERS

8:00pm

Regional TBD

Wed., July 7

LOS ANGELES FC

8:00pm

Regional TBD

Sat., July 17

at Sporting Kansas City

7:30pm

Regional TBD

Thu., July 22

SEATTLE SOUNDERS

8:30pm

ESPN (National)

Wed., July 28

at Vancouver Whitecaps FC

9:00pm

Regional TBD

Sat., July 31

COLORADO RAPIDS

8:00pm

Regional TBD

Wed., Aug. 4

HOUSTON DYNAMO
Heineken Rivalry Week

8:00pm

Regional TBD

Sat., Aug. 7

at FC Dallas
Heineken Rivalry Week

7:30pm

Regional TBD

Sat., Aug. 14

at Real Salt Lake

9:00pm

Regional TBD

Wed., Aug. 18

VANCOUVER WHITECAPS FC

8:00pm

Regional TBD

Sat., Aug. 21

PORTLAND TIMBERS

8:00pm

Regional TBD

Sun., Aug. 29

FC DALLAS

8:00pm

FS1 (National)

Sat., Sept. 11

at Houston Dynamo

7:30pm

Regional TBD

Wed., Sept. 15

LOS ANGELES FC

8:00pm

Regional TBD

Sat., Sept. 18

SAN JOSE EARTHQUAKES

8:00pm

Regional TBD

Sun., Sept. 26

LA GALAXY

TBD

ESPN (National)

Wed., Sept. 29

at Colorado Rapids

8:00pm

Regional TBD

Sat., Oct. 2

REAL SALT LAKE

2:30pm

UniMás (National)

Sat., Oct. 16

MINNESOTA UNITED FC

8:00pm

Regional TBD

Wed., Oct. 20

at San Jose Earthquakes

9:30pm

Regional TBD

Sun., Oct. 24

HOUSTON DYNAMO

3:00pm

ESPN (National)

Sat., Oct. 30

at FC Dallas

7:00pm

Regional TBD

Wed., Nov. 3

SPORTING KANSAS CITY

8:00pm

Regional TBD

Sun., Nov 7

at Portland Timbers
Decision Day

5:00pm

Regional TBD

Austin FC will see its first-ever regular season match at LAFC in a nationally-televised game that will be broadcast on FOX and FOX Deportes on Saturday, April 17. The team will not hit its new Q2 Stadium until Saturday, June 19, where it will play at home for the first time against the San Jose Earthquakes. Before the home matchup, the club will play seven away matches across the West Coast and Midwest.

ATXFC will host defending MLS Cup champions Columbus Crew SC, a club formerly owned by Austin FC owner Anthony Precourt, for their highly-anticipated second home match on Sunday, June 27.

Other anticipated rivalry teams, Lone Star neighbors FC Dallas and Houston Dynamo, for the first time during Heineken Rivalry Week in August. The team will host the Houston Dynamo on Wednesday, August 4 and will travel up I-35 to play FC Dallas on Saturday, August 7.

The league will conclude regular season play on Decision Day, Nov. 7, while the Audi 2021 MLS Cup Playoffs are scheduled to begin on Nov. 19. The season will end with the MLS Cup on Saturday, Dec. 11.

The West-heavy schedule will include only two teams from the Western Conference, the Crew and Nashville SC on Sunday, May 23 in Nashville, Tennessee.

A total of 11 games will be broadcast nationally on channels including FOX, FOX Sports I, ESPN and UniMás. Others will be televised regionally on KXAN, the CW Austin and KBVO. Official regional coverage has not been disclosed.

The team and the MLS released media, including a video short, to their Twitter:


The MLS said another key match for the club will be its matchup at five-time MLS Cup Champions LA Galaxy on May 27.


Popular

Artist Chris Rogers painted this East Austin mural after the May 25 police killing of George Floyd, center. Mike Ramos, third from left, was shot to death by an Austin police officer on April 24. (Austonia)

Former Minneapolis police officer Derek Chauvin was found guilty on three charges—second- and third-degree murder as well as manslaughter—in the killing of George Floyd, an unarmed Black man whose final moments were recorded by onlookers, sparking a global protest movement over police violence and racial injustice. He faces up to 40 years in prison.

Jurors deliberated for 10 hours over two days after an intense, three-week trial before reaching a verdict Tuesday afternoon, four days shy of the first anniversary of the Austin police killing of Mike Ramos, an unarmed, 42-year-old Black and Hispanic man whose name became a rallying cry—along with Floyd's—for Austin protestors, who marched en masse last summer, prompting some police reforms.

Keep Reading Show less

Miami and Austin are going head-to-head for tech transplants. (Pexels)

Californians love Texas, and Austin—with its liberal politics, relatively affordable housing and job opportunities—is particularly adored. In fact, the Lone Star State was the main recipient of departing Californians in 2019, according to the latest available U.S. Census Bureau data.

But other states, including Florida, are seeing increased interest. Miami Mayor Francis Suarez has made a name for himself on Twitter recruiting techies and hyping up his city, which has a lot in common with Austin—with the added benefit of a beach and sans the "Don't California my Texas" attitude.

Keep Reading Show less

(Austin FC/Twitter)

In the days after Austin FC's inaugural match against LAFC on Saturday, Head Coach Josh Wolff says he's watched the game "a number of times, to say the least."

In the match, Wolff and over 500,000 other viewers looked on as Austin FC took to the pitch for the first time, held their own in the first half against LAFC and eventually fell 2-0 to a team that's sometimes regarded as the best in the league.

Keep Reading Show less